Judicial system and legislation

This is a print of a page on Look for the most up-to-date information on ( This page is printed on 01-01-1970.

Skip Navigation LinksHome > English > Judicial system and legislation

The judicial system and legislation in the Netherlands

The Netherlands judicial system consist of the following organisations:


District courts

The Netherlands is divided into eleven districts, each with its own court.

Courts of Appeal

The eleven districts are divided into four areas of Court of Appeal jurisdiction: The Hague and Amsterdam in the west, Arnhem-Leeuwarden in the east and in the north and 's-Hertogenbosch in the south.


Specialized Supreme Administrative Courts

There are three Specialized Supreme Administrative Courts in the Netherlands that are competent in specific areas of administrative law.

Supreme Court

As the highest court in the fields of civil, criminal and tax law in the Netherlands, the Supreme Court is responsible for hearing appeals in cassation and for a number of specific tasks with which it is charged by law.